Last Minute/Easy Halloween Costume Ideas 2023- Jump start your look for 2024!

Hello, hello friends!

I know I have been MIA since my last post. I was working on my master’s in strategic communications last year from August 22′ until this recent July, but I finished and earned my degree! I was also working full time and everything else in between kept me busy. I want to start getting into blogging again, but you know how that goes for me; I do my best! This is just a fun and creative outlet for me. If you still read and follow this blog, I appreciate you! Sorry I’ve left you hanging.

I wanted to put this post out there even though Halloween has just passed. At the very least, I am early for next year!

I don’t do much for Halloween besides dressing up at work. I always want to do something, but I have yet to go to a party….maybe one day. I think it’s both fun and odd that adults still get into dressing up for Halloween so much, but I guess it’s a way to be able to be a kid again for one day.

I don’t usually plan much in advance what my costume is; I am a very last minute costume person, so this is where I got the inspiration for these ideas. I’ve done a similar post on this topic before and I always enjoy writing it, so I wanted to be sure to post this!

Let’s recap, Halloween costumes I’ve been in the past. I try to think of a new idea every year because I enjoy the challenge:

  1. Audrey hepburn-black dress, layered pearl or rhinestone necklaces, tiara, high bun 🕶👑
  2. Batman-dress in all black and add a Batman mask. I had one at my house, but you can make one easy out of card or tag board. 🦇
  3. Halloween elf- This was in 2019. I was really into The Dark Crystal Netflix show. I bought these wire elf ears at a ren faire. I bought some cheap wings from the dollar tree. I wore these black/orange polka-dot leggings I like with a purple velvet dress. I kind of combined the two ideas (Halloween colors with the elf). 🧝
  4. Dorothy Wizard of Oz- solid blue or blue gingham dress, braided pig tails, basket, stuffed dog, red flats🧺
  5. Leopard/cat-any leopard print clothing will do. cat ears are easy to find. draw the whiskers on your face and you’re good to go. 😽
  6. Rosie the riveter-denim shirt, red bandanna 🔧
  7. Bunny- I’m a bunny mom so I have a lot of shirts with rabbits on them and rabbit ears. You can really be any animal you fancy pretty easy. 🐇
  8. Mermaid-greens bottoms for the tail, blue or purple top, any sea/shell related accessories. 🧜
  9. Minnie mouse- pretty easy if you have red accessories, a polk-a-dotted dress, and a pair of minnie ears. 🐭🎀

2023 Quick Ideas

Of course there’s Barbie, Kenergy, Oppenheimer, or Taylor Swift, but I personally like to do more unique ideas.

  1. Gummy bear- I really wanted to do this, but I lost track of time. I was thinking a colored or clear rain poncho. If it’s clear, just wear the color clothing of the bear you want to be. You can sometimes find translucent bear ears online, but I think you could make them pretty easy too with that kind of fabric. I think they sell it at the craft/fabric store. 🧸
  2. Mabel- She’s from Only Murders in The Building, of course. Her most memorable look is the furry jacket, beanie, dark sunglasses, and big headphones. Add fake blood over your face and you will turn into Bloody Mabel easily. IYKYK. 🕶🎧
  3. Elle Woods- All pink outfit and everything girly. Bonus if you have a blonde wig or actual blonde hair plus your Bruiser. You could also easily be Jackie O. with a similar pink outfit. Think her Chanel outfit when JFK died…dark but it is an iconic look. 💕
  4. TY Beanie Baby- This is an easy last minute costume to pull together. This is what I did this year. I went for a pink bear (see picture below). I collect headbands, so I had some pink fuzzy bear ears around but you can find some easily at the dollar tree or make them with a plain headband and felt or tag board. All you need to make real quick is the TY heart tag and you are golden. ❤
  5. Glinda (Wicked)- her blue outfit/pink outfit are most memorable for me. Pull out any of those colored clothes and get your green Oz glasses! 🎭
  6. Edna Mode (The Incredibles)- I meant to dress up for this on Halloween day, but I got lazy. I got this idea from the girl’s I babysit. I cut my hair short around last May, so my hair is that perfect bob length. They kept telling me to be that for Halloween. Wear a black or navy dress, which most people have in their wardrobe. If you have over-sized glasses, wear those or you can make them out of black pipe cleaners. Add a red necklace or make a red collar out of paper. 👜
  7. Katie (Wedding Season)- Have you seen this Hulu show? It’s about crime, murder, and a bit about love; I really enjoyed it. I’m thinking of two iconic looks of hers. I like the outfit she has one with the red hoodie, platform black boots, and a grey jacket over or her wedding look. She has a beaded headband veil and a big white dress. You could thrift a similar dress and I know Marshall’s for a while had a ton of headband veils recently, but you could easily make it with a puffy white headband and some white tulle. You can really do any of your favorite characters as a costume. 👰

Here’s some of my inspo for this year and some of my costumes from the past. Photos that aren’t me: credit goes to Google or original artist.

An idea of how to make Edna Mode’s giant glasses out of pipe cleaners.

This was my pumpkin this year (heart, star eyes). The other one was my friend’s.

Here was my beanie baby costume! It was very comfortable.

Oh yeah! This was one more last minute idea. I had an injury last winter, so I have a bunch of this wrap tape and other bandages around. Wear all white or beige colored clothes and just put some of this stuff on your arms.

Ok! What do you guys think? Drop a comment if you have any other ideas. These could also work if you had some kind of costume party outside of Halloween. Hope you had a great Halloween! Thanks for reading if you took the time. I know it’s a lot of text. I might add a little fun video.

xoxo,

Haley

Stay fabulous! I forgot what else I used to say. Spades forever or something. 🙂

Leave a comment