Shine bright, Shine far, Don’t be shy, Be a star

Today’s the 4th of July, my favorite holiday! Usually I spend it with my cousin who lives on the west side of the state, I guess is what you consider it. I have so many good memories of the 4th spent with my cousins. I’ve probably spent 5 or so of my 4th’s with them because that’s the only time our families can hook up. A couple times I have gone over there by myself and then stayed a week. It just feels nostalgic to me.

Every time I go over there I feel like a kid because all we do is play and do stupid stuff. My cousin is almost 18 now, but he’s still a kid at heart. We always shoot fireworks off in the front yard because they are legal there, have pop it fights, write our name in the cement with colored smoke bombs that usually lasts until the end of summer, and go to the festival at “the lake” which really isn’t a lake to swim in. It’s a huge park with a dirty lake in the center and a walking trail that surrounds it. Different vendors sell stuff there and I always walk away with random treasures. We play hide-and- go-seek tag at night with all the neighbor kids that my cousin has known since he was a baby. We make stupid videos and put them on YouTube.

Every night we lie on the couch for hours and watch movies. Then we usually have really deep talks which aren’t really that deep and I end up laughing until I’m crying, can’t breathe, and my stomach hurts. We go to the slough and look for nutria’s which are basically giant fat rats. We never see one when I’m there though and it really pisses me off because I want to see one up close.

This year I’m in town though. So far I went for a 25 mile bike downtown with my parents. We got up early to beat the heat. Then we went to Red Robin and later we are going to see the fireworks.

The title of this blog post comes from the movie “Life Size.” You know where Tyra Banks is a barbie like doll named Eve and turns into a real life person after Lindsey Lohan, kid version, wishes some voo doo on her. There is a commercial for the doll Eve and they sing that song “Shine bright.” It just reminds me of the 4th of July because fireworks are bright. I really like that movie.

Happy 4th everyone! What are you wearing today? I’d love to see your outfits too in the comments or however that is possible.

xoxo

H

Top-Nordstrom. Shorts-JCPenney. Sandals-Bandals.

Top-Nordstrom. Shorts-JCPenney. Sandals-Bandals.

Love these sunglasses I got at Rue 21 a while ago.

Love these sunglasses I got at Rue 21 a while ago.

I poofed up my hair and put this sweet little American flag bow to hold it.
I poofed up my hair and put this sweet little American flag bow to hold it.

Another shot of my sunglasses.

Another shot of my sunglasses.

The bag I carried. Nothing says America more than Kate Spade.

The bag I carried. Nothing says America more than Kate Spade.

A closer shot of my bow.

Leave a comment